Blame Game

Most people think of diabetes as a very physical disease, but there is a huge mental and emotional component to its management.

As I’ve said before, diabetes is one of those things where you can do everything right, and still not end up where you want to be. Super frustrating- like throw-your-pump-against-a-wall frustrating. Not that I’m suggesting that’s a good idea, because pumps are mega expensive, and you should never intentionally damage your pseudo-pancreas. But the sentiment is the same.

The other night, I went out for dinner with my roommate and her family for her birthday. It was fun, and we had some good food! I knew there was a possibility that my blood sugar could be affected during the night while I slept, but I did the best I could in calculating my insulin dose.

My CGM probably woke me up about 5 times during the night as I dipped below and rose about my “high alert” threshold, then started rising more dramatically. This resulted in several correction boluses and tests on my meter that kept me up for a fair part of the night. As I climbed out of bed feeling zombie-like and dehydrated, I found myself thinking,

“I shouldn’t have…”

Shouldn’t have celebrated my friend’s birthday the way anyone else would have? Shouldn’t have eaten the part of my dinner that I knew might give me trouble later? Shouldn’t have assumed that one correction bolus (with a little extra for good measure) would be enough to bring my blood sugar down to a level that wouldn’t make me feel sick in the morning?

The reality is, I had done everything I possibly could to both enjoy my friend’s birthday and keep my blood sugar under control. I regularly put 150% into my diabetes management, but often don’t see the results I’d like.

In a more extreme example, last fall, my blood sugars were very high (high 200s-low 300s) the vast majority of the time for a few weeks, despite massive correction boluses, basal and carb ratio changes. The fact that I was having trouble putting in pump sites where the insulin would absorb well was not helping. I felt sick and dehydrated and upset with my pump all the time, and one night during class, I developed blurry spots in my vision.

I was absolutely terrified. I could barely form coherent sentences when I called my mom. Had I damaged my vision by not taking proper care of myself?

Luckily, the endocrinologist on call at my doctor’s office assured me that it was likely a temporary fluid imbalance in my eyes, caused by my frequent high blood sugars. And sure enough, my vision returned to normal shortly afterwards. But I still blamed myself for this scary incident- even though I was doing my best to take care of myself in a difficult situation.

All anyone can expect from you in managing your diabetes is your best effort. After all, you didn’t ask for your body to attack your pancreas. Your best IS good enough. Don’t let anyone tell you it isn’t. Don’t feel bad if everything isn’t perfect all the time- what would you have to sacrifice to get the control you want? I think it’s better to live your life freely, have fun, and enjoy your experiences, instead of constantly worrying about keeping your blood sugar in range.

In case anyone was wondering, my eyes suffered no lasting damage from that incident, and I have a much better relationship with my pump at this point in time. I’m still working on not blaming myself when my blood sugars are out of range- but what goes up must come down, right?

Leave a Reply

